Linux XP: Review

January 1st, 2007

LXP  

Introduction 
Linux XP is a linux version (distro) that is designed to behave like Windows XP. The theory is that a Windows user should be able to easily use Linux XP, if they are comfortable with Windows XP.

But does it work? And what is the user likely to experience? Here are my observations:

  1. Installation: quite easy actually. Aside from setting up the partitions which might be hard for non linux users, the installation process was easy (also, the partition setup had an automatic mode).
  2. Startup: startup is in typical unix style, with lots of system info whizzing past. Eventually the desktop will load.
  3. Desktop: the initial desktop presented when LXP loads is similar to Windows XP. A lot of effort has been put into mimic the XP desktop, and it pays off: At the bottom you have the taskbar with start button (and various other icons).
  4. Menu system: Like windows, there is a start button - clicking this enables you to open various applications, also adjust various system options via a ‘control panel’
  5. Control Panel: LXP has a control panel, similar to XP. Through this you can adjust various options related to the interface, hardware, network, users, and also add/remove applications.
  6. Applications: LXP includes applications under categories similar to XP. These categories are accessories, graphics, Internet, Multimedia, and Office.
  7. Included applications include various utilities (under accessories), a PDF viewer,  GIMP (for graphics) Firefox (for surfing) and much more. Strangely, Open office was not included in the installation, which is a pity.

Possible Bugs

I found the following problems during the install/usage - whether they were due to my hardware or errors on my part I can’t say for sure:

  1. Installation: The initial boot screen displayed by the CD had garbled text (tried changing graphics card/monitor no luck)
  2. Screen resolution: After installation, the screen resolution could not be adjusted beyond 800X600 @85hz. Tried changing monitors, and graphics card but no luck.

Final thoughts:

Linux XP does an admirable job of mimicing Windows XP’s behavior, so a typical XP user may find switching to LXP very easy. At the same time, the more fundamental question I’d ask is, if you are switching to Linux, why bother retaining windows XP layout, when Linux has better options?

The second problem with LXP (in my opinion) is that it is a paid OS - i.e. you have to pay to obtain a licence. Some will say this is a good thing but it makes me wary as it goes against the principle of open source (IMO).

Lastly, LXP is still relatively unknown, isn’t as popular as some of the more well established Linux distros.

Conclusion 

Having used Ubuntu, I think it is vastly superior to Linux XP, besides being true FOSS (Free and open source) it can also be tweaked to look and feel like XP (if you want to). See my review of Ubuntu here

Entry Filed under: Linux, OS


13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chanux  |  January 1st, 2007 at 10:47 am

    I’m having problems Viewing ya blog.I’m using Firefox 2.0.
    I think this is the 2nd time commenting abt this.
    chk it out man, hurry up.

  • 2. n#  |  January 1st, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    Chanux, can you tell me specifically what problem you are experiencing? I’m able to open the site fine on Firefox 2.0 here?

  • 3. Chanux  |  January 5th, 2007 at 10:52 am

    Websnapr gets me a pic ‘black letters on white background’ what’s goin on here.

  • 4. n#  |  January 5th, 2007 at 11:06 am

    Black letters on white background is what this site looks like. Possibly you have a bug in your firefox or you are using some plugin which is messing the colors up.

  • 5. Handover Phist  |  January 5th, 2007 at 12:50 pm

    Screenshot

    Looks fine in Firefox 2 from here, I’d suggest checking your custom settings.

  • 6. Jeremiah  |  January 25th, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    Did you try installing the video drivers?

  • 7. patrick  |  February 25th, 2007 at 4:21 am

    i look for drivers (linux xp) for hp pavilion dv6000ea .
    can you give it to me

  • 8. didsd  |  March 26th, 2007 at 9:07 am

    I agree with you the linux kernel should not be used for a operating system that makes uses of a xp skin!!. Another thing wish makes me mad using the linux kernel for a paid operating system man there is more in life then having money and if you want to earn money do it in a nice way not bye using other man’s free work and give it your own ugly xp layout. I know suse and redhat do that do but then you get somting in return/

  • 9. iKonaK  |  May 28th, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    lol the highest resolution available is 600×400….

  • 10. intrepi  |  July 21st, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    I read the license agreement of linux xp and it has a familiar look and ring to it. I sense this linux xp distro is another MS attempt at getting their hands into the linux arena to make whatever money they can. Anyone care to tell us who the ghost behind linux xp is or are they going to remain a faceless MS company ?

  • 11. andrew  |  October 8th, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    this linux xp is dodgy. what a fricken rip!!! it would be much easier and smarter to just get fedora or ubuntu or many of the other excellent linux distros out there, and if you really really want it to look like XP, download a skin or make a skin. otherwise just stick with windows. linux xp is to me just a soft option

  • 12.  |  November 17th, 2008 at 6:27 am

    I totaly agree with you guys!
    I think MS is reallly scared of all Linux Distrs because are superior!
    Linux is the the best OS and Free and it should stay like that!

  • 13. Attempt  |  June 25th, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    I must agree with you people in the fact that if who have a need to migrate to Linux, it’s just better to download a better Distro and learn how to use it. That’s undoubted…

    HOWEVER, at least in my case, at our office, we have a loooooot of problems with the virus in Windows… I’m the single Linux user ’cause I’m the Systems department manager…

    I would like to run Windows for my users without the threat of the virus (We’ve got antivirus but i just want a COMPLETELY FREE VIRUS environment)

    In other words, I would like to lie to my users XD haha. I want them to use Linux even without knowing it, because nobody would want to use something so different from their beloved Windows…

    SO is this possible??? I’ve been thinking running Windows under Wine??? Or a distro like this!
    Am I crazy? XD

    What can I do???

Leave a Comment

hidden

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Popular Posts

OMG! Ponies!

Most Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories

Feeds

Calendar

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Links

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict